And so we watch and so we learn/With eyes wide for our dreams to yearn

Ghosts

In someone’s face, in another place
The ghosts of memories drift in space
Past selves of me reliving moments
I’m still learning to let go of

If I stop right there
I can feel and be who I was once more
All those emotions come rushing back
Dancing, twirling, laughing, living, breathing
Conflicting with me now is so confusing

Like a broken mirror, glass distorted
My memories echo, my mind’s eye open
Seeing what could be again if I just indulged
In a little bit of
Faith?
Hope?
Delusion
Because this story’s reached its conclusion

All my ghosts reach out their hands
And each one’s discarded as I try
To move on and let them fade somehow
Find new memories in some new sky

This world so big and infinitely ever changing
I still need to learn to embrace the future, trust the future me that’s watching
Reconcile my pasts
Reconcile my hearts
Exorcise the ghosts within me?
Say hello to some new journey
And pray, someday
These strings that tether cease to weigh me down, instead become my ballast
Balancing, holding me steady
Maybe one day I’ll feel ready

Maybe I can make that change

Leave a comment