And so we watch and so we learn/With eyes wide for our dreams to yearn

There is not enough said
About longing for a new home
For the places you haven’t been to
For the worlds you haven’t known

There is not enough said
About yearning calls over the sea
Life you can so clearly imagine living
If you could only just be free

There is not enough said
When your town is the back of your hand
And you ache to find your other pieces
Buried with hearts in some other land

For when you know the feel of home
In a place every detail strange
There is joy to be found in unfamiliarity
And reassurance in change

And when you find new friends and love
In a world still foreign when you leave
You have to wonder; “Why the fuck did I go?”
“I need more time to live, to breathe;

“To find my rhythm in curiosity
With enough memories made to fill
What’s missing inside me – that exploration
And new discoveries I know surely will.”

For home is where the heart is,
And mine is big enough for the world to share
Now my problem isn’t finding all those places, though
But the monumental task getting there

Comments on: "In Which I Really Need To Make Travel Plans" (8)

  1. LOVE this poem! Did you write it? Sharing it with my friends!

  2. Lovely, I hope you have an amazing journey.

  3. this is extremely relatable. again, you make everything sound so beautiful

  4. Ankush Maiti said:

    That’s relatable. Like holy crap, woman, you’re my soul animal.

Leave a Reply

